Blog News & Updates

Starting over


Starting over.

Photo by Nathan Sudds | http://www.sxc.hu/photo/270663

This blog stopped for various reasons. Mostly because I never really got into the whole blogging thing. Also because real life demanded most of my time (and I made the right priorities). This little post won’t be long and is more of a symbol of a fresh start for me, in terms of blogging.

What I do like to share is a quote I stopped to think a little on today:

“The system of fathers of the world church, the clergy system of the state church, and the pastoral system of the independent churches are all the same in nature. They are all Nicolaitans. In the Bible there are only brothers. There is the gift of a pastor, but no system of pastors. The pastoral system is man’s tradition. If the children of God are not willing to return to the position of that in the beginning, no matter what they do, it will not be right.” – Watchman Nee

This was my comment to it as I posted the quote to my Facebook wall:

“True. Every believer is a member of the body, and is set to function, not just a select few.”

As the title of this blog post states I think we ought to start over at zero, when it comes to what we think we can bring before God and how we view our own strength.

Hopefully this little post marks the beginning of a living blog.

Love in Christ,
Daniel

Standard

6 thoughts on “Starting over

  1. Wow, what a powerful quote by Watchman Nee. I completely agree.

    Also, I’m very excited to hear that you’ll be blogging here again. Thanks for this post, and I’m looking forward to more this upcoming year! Blessings to you brother:)

    • Thanks, Jamal. I feel encouraged by your and John’s comment on here. What a great warm welcome to this fresh blogging start! Increasing revelation of Christ to both of you, brothers! 🙂

  2. Hi dear brother. Thank you for inviting me to your blog and I pray God’s richest blessings to you in blessing the body of Christ “by His Feet.” Wow! I’ve never seen that quote from Nee before and wrote it inside the cover of my copy of “The Normal Christian Church Life,” one of my favorite books by Nee on NT principles of the life of “ekklesia.” “The Body of Christ: A Reality” and “Assembling Together” are two others I heartily recommend.

    The bottom line to Paul’s ecclesiology is that if the focus is on a single member of the body, that body is actually “missing” (I Cor. 12:19). What a sobering thought that is. His body knows HIS voice and follows HIM. That’s why Jesus hates the deeds and teachings of the Nicolaitans because He no longer has the place of preeminence that is His due. Yes brother, let us “stay at His feet” so that we can exalt His supreme Headship.
    .

  3. Amen brother, thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. I loved the thought you shared on focusing on a single member. Sobering indeed. No one could imagine a body made up of only a thumb or an ear, so why do we accept this false mind system or the fact that in a pew we’re being treated as spare parts? Boggles the mind, but at the same time it is not surprising; what the flesh wants to accomplish.

    So yes, let’s stay at His feet and marvel at His breathtaking beauty! I wish you increasing revelation of Christ and a wonderful start of 2012!

Leave a Reply

